GPS Track and Field Championships

The TSS Track and Field season culminated 100th GPS Track and Field Championships on Friday 27th October. This year something was different about this team. The preparation from a large number of athletes was consistent, there was unity in the team and as the lead up meets went on, this team kept building momentum. The feeling in this team was incredible and this contributed to an amazing day. As always, the TSS athletes rose to the occasion with the overwhelming majority recording PBs. At the end of the evening 361.5 points were amassed which equated to 4th place and small 16.5 pts from 2nd.

On the day prior to the event Mr Holtsbaum read a letter from TSS Old Boy OJ Rarua (1999) who spoke with passion about how much he valued his time as an athlete at TSS. It was obvious that many of athletes took this on board for their performances in the next day! As always, every athlete contributed to the point score but there were some standouts. James Smith and Jojo Fifita were incredible with a plethora of top 3 places. The most inspirational performance of the night went to Harley Nielsen’s sensational night coming 2nd in the 16 Years 800m, backing up to fill in for the 4x400m due an athlete being sick and then following that with the 1500m – his dedication to the team will not be forgotten.

School Records from the night:

  • Jojo Fifita 14 Years 200m – 22.99s
  • Jojo Fifita 14 Years Long Jump – 6.17m
  • James Smith 15 Years High Jump – 1.92m
  • Charlie Blok 14 Years 800m – 2.01.31
  • Jojo Fifita, Rabura Rabura, Charlie Blok and Nico McGregor 14 Years 4 x 100m – 46.68s
  • Kaimana Barry, Will Cuffe, Franky Maroney-Vita, Kobi Rutherford Open 4 x 400m – 3.34.37

Top 3s from this event include:

  • First places
    • Jojo Fifita – 13 Years 100m, 200m and Long Jump
    • Jojo Fifita, Charlie Blok, Nico McGregor, Rabura Rabura – 14 Years 4 x 100m relay
    • James Smith – 15 Years High Jump and 100m Hurdles
    • Charlie Blok – 14 Years 400m and 800m
    • Ben Kinivan – 16 Years 400m
  • Second places
    • James Smith – 15 Years Long Jump
    • Zane Nonggorr – 16 Years Shot put
    • Rabura Rabura – 14 Years Triple Jump
    • Lachlan Bruce – Open 110m Hurdles
    • Dougal Jones – 13 Years Javelin
    • Harley Nielsen – 16 Years 800m
    • Ben Gibson – Open 800m and 1500m
  • Third places
    • Zac Gregory – 16 Years High Jump
    • Alex Walker – 16 Years 200m
    • Will Cuffe – Open 200m
    • Joshua Langdon – Open Javelin
    • Pat Murtagh – Open Triple Jump
    • Oscar Rutherford – 13 Years 1500m

Congratulations to these boys and to the rest of the team on your performances! Success isn’t an outcome, it’s a process and as we look forward to the future, the athletes will continue to work hard to reach their potential.

If parents or runners have any questions they can contact the Director of Athletics, Mr Andrew Stalling on [email protected]

All Rights Reserved CRICOS Provider: 00523F Web Design by 7thVision

WordPress Appliance - Powered by TurnKey Linux