2017 Champion Schools Queensland Report

Mr Brendan Le Gassick – Director of Basketball

TSS entered the 2017 Champion Basketball Schools tournament at Logan, in the Championship Division playing against the top 16 schools in Queensland.

TSS started the tournament strongly with a win against Cairns State High with Jackson Dunn (19 points) hitting an impressive five 3 pointers. Matthew Grant was outstanding in the second game with 13 points and 16 rebounds providing a much needed spark, helping TSS narrowly beat Mountain Creek SHS by 2-points; finishing day one undefeated.

Day two was against GPS rivals, Brisbane State High and playing for top position in our pool. Led out the gates by Captain Hudson Kaddatz (34 points) and Cody Gager (13 points), TSS proved too physical and held the lead for the entire game, winning 77-66. In a favourable crossover game saw us play Toowoomba Grammar School winning confidently by an impressive 62-points. This win enabled us to qualify for a quarter-final game.

Day three at 8am, saw TSS up against a highly skilled Ignatius Park outfit. Led again by Hudson Kaddatz who continually proved too much class for the Townsville locals. TSS set the tone early – blowing out the lead to 22 points in the first quarter. Ignatius fought back hard only trailing by 5 points with 4mins remaining but plays from Cody Gager (30 points & 12 rebounds) helped extend the lead back out to 20 points, winning 84-64. The semi-final matched TSS (5-0) up with the undefeated St James. For the first three quarters, each team traded baskets in a highly intense battle. TSS left nothing in the tank and on the back of an outstanding individual performance by Hudson Kaddatz (40 Points) fell short, losing 81-92.

Day four, in the Bronze medal game TSS came up against the defending State Champions Hillcrest Christian College (both teams shared a 5-1 record). Lachlan Mills and Brock McMahon were outstanding on the defensive end. However, TSS struggled to put points on the board scoring only 47 for the game, losing by 27 points.

Player of the tournament: Hudson Kaddatz

Best defensive player: Brock McMahon

Sportsmanship Award: Matthew Grant


All Rights Reserved CRICOS Provider: 00523F Web Design by 7thVision

WordPress Appliance - Powered by TurnKey Linux